Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

John J. Gallagher Memorial Athletic Award

The John J. Gallagher Memorial Athletic Award was established during the 2000-2001 academic year by the Seymour Board of Education in memory of Mr. John Gallagher who was an avid supporter of Seymour High School’s athletic programming. Mr. Gallagher passed away in November 2000, one week after celebrating his 100th birthday. Up to his 99th year, he always attended Seymour High School’s athletic activities. In his memory, the Board of Education would like to honor an individual who is an avid supporter of the Seymour athletic programming.

To be given to an individual who has assisted in the support and development of athletics within the schools and the community-at-large. This individual should be a resident of the Town of Seymour or any member of the staff employed by the Seymour Board of Education or a student in the Seymour Public Schools.


2001 Louis DeBarber   2012 Jay Gesek
2002 Robert Lang   2013 Paul Sponheimer
2003 Richard Yitts   2014 Jamie Yakushewicz
2004 Patty Farrell   2015 Missy Orosz
2005 Edward Eitzer   2016 Antonio Ciccone
2006 Leslie Cole   2017 Joseph Carrafiello
2007 Johnny Kassay   2018 Tarra Andrews
2008 Raymond Necio   2019 Alfred Bruno
2009 Jim Garman   2020 Peggy Carvahlo
2010 Gary Freeman   2021 Daniel and Jeannette Marra
2011 John K. Hummel   2022 KC Sirowich