Skip To Main Content

Logo Image

Logo Title

Paraeducator of the Year

The Connecticut State Department of Education (CSDE) and the School Paraprofessional Advisory Council have established the Anne Marie Murphy Paraeducator of the Year Award to recognize the important role of the paraeducator in supporting student achievement. The award is named in honor of Anne Marie Murphy, a paraeducator who lost her life at Sandy Hook Elementary School in 2012. The program honors one paraeducator who has demonstrated exceptional skill and dedication in the performance of his/her job, thereby earning that person the respect and admiration of other paraeducators, students, teachers, administrators, co-workers, and parents. Nominations are encouraged in the spring of each year and the recipient is honored at the June Board of Education Awards Ceremony.


2020-2021 Paraprofessional of the Year Nomination Form